4th of July

I vaguely remember spending the night at my Aunt Christine’s with my brothers and sister when I was really young on the 4th of July.  As a darkened sky fell upon us her neighbor, who was having a party, began shooting off fireworks.  We all stumbled into the backyard to watch, but when we realized we were too close and the firework…scraps (?)…were falling on us, I remember fearing for my life and running like mad towards the road.

I remember the years following this we would have family friends over to celebrate the 4th in our backyard.  Again, as a darkened sky fell upon us fireworks were launched and sparklers handed out.  The standard precautionary announcement from the adults before handing out sparklers of being careful not to burn ourselves and making sure to dump them in the bucket of water when we were done were enough to keep me away from them.  Start a fire?  Not me!  Get burned?  No thanks!

My young fear of our country’s tradition on the night of the 4th of July always loomed over my head when I was younger, but as I’ve grown, I’ve grown to love fireworks.  I love the pounding explosion in your chest as the fireworks boom and burst with color.  I love how spontaneous they can be – never knowing what colors will explode, or exactly which shape it will produce, or how fast they will fizzle out.

This year I was in Niagara Falls, NY on the 4th and caught some fireworks in the park.  This is only my second time trying to take pictures of fireworks, and I didn’t bring my tripod with me, so overall I’m pleased with what I captured!  They are definitely an improvement from my pictures last year, and again, (of course) I realized things I should have, and should not have done right after the show was over.  I need to make a list for next year!  Enjoy!

Comments
4 Responses to “4th of July”
  1. Kedar Joyner says:

    These are great! I tried to get some firework shots this year, but they didn’t turn out nearly as nice as these =)

Leave a Reply

