A Little Less Country, A Lot More Hometown

For almost the entirity of my life I have prided myself as being such a country girl.

I was proud my dad farmed.

I was proud to have a barn with tractors, fields with various crops, and farm animals to keep us company.

I was proud to know the difference between straw and hay (and still to this day go insane when someone confuses the two).

I was proud to be a 4-H member and looked forward to raising animals for the fair each year.

I liked the fields and the woods and becoming my dad’s shadow on the weekends – tending to the garden, checking the crops, going down to the woods, hitching a ride on the tractor.

It wasn’t until two years ago that I realized I’m not such the country girl I thought I was.  You see, two years ago was the first time (with the exception of one year spent 40 minutes away from home) that I actually left where I grew up to live elsewhere.  Somewhere even more country than where I had lived.  Instead of living in the country, but on the outskirts of a generally large city with everything you could possibly need, I now live in the country with actual civilization (ya know, like a Target and a mall) about 45 minutes away.  It was two years ago that I realized I’m just a hometown girl.  I miss my home.  I miss the privacy of the fields and the comfort of my family so close.  I miss growing up in a town where everyone knew everyone.  I miss being surrounded by the environment and the people that have provided me with a lifetime of memories.

Here are some pictures from a few weekends ago when I was at my parent’s…

Comments
2 Responses to “A Little Less Country, A Lot More Hometown”
  1. drawandshoot says:

    Sarah, these seem so intimate somehow. Like little glimpses into what’s close to your heart. Beautiful.

    • sarahjmb says:

      Thank you so much! When I get a little homesick it’s nice to look at these because they put me right back in my parent’s backyard where I have so many memories.

Leave a Reply

