Words of Encouragement

I can remember my Grandpa breaking into this poem anytime one of his children, granchildren, etc. would talk in a defeated manner.  I could almost tell at any point in a conversation when he would burst into a part of the poem to keep the person’s hopes up.  When I graduated from high school I opened a card from him to find a typed copy of the poem.  For a while it remained in the bottom of a dresser drawer, but this fall I had the urge to pin it to a board in my office.

I can hear his voice and the rhythm he would use to string the words together in a sing-song way and sooner rather than later everyone in the room would get a smirk and repeat, “Keep a trying, keep a going, keep a trying, keep a going.”

Leave a Reply

